Safer
Safer Arizona Legislator Marijuana Status Report

Marijuana & Hemp Law Reform
Senators: Friends 10 Foe 5 Unknown 15
Representatives: Friends 20 Foe 8 Unknown 32

Harm Reduction Measure
Senators: Support 8 Oppose 3 Unknown 19
Representatives: Support 21 Oppose 5 Unknown 34

District: 1
Senator Steve Pierce
Terms in Office: 3
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029265584
Email: spierce@azleg.gov
Notes: He supported SB1070, bigger than life. Backed Medicaid expansion. Sponsored a bill to restrict marijuana farms.
District: 1
Representative Andy Tobin
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029265172
Email: atobin@azleg.gov
Notes: Speaker Of The House
District: 1
Representative Karen Fann
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265874
Email: kfann@azleg.gov


District: 2
Senator Linda Lopez
Terms in Office: 4
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support:

Phone: 6029264089
Email: llopez@azleg.gov
Notes: She resigned from her job as Assistant Minority Leader. Reports are she resigned from her position as Assistant Minority Leader because wanted to spend more time on a job she got in Tucson.
District: 2
Representative Andrea Dalessandro
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265342
Email: adalessandro@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 2
Representative Rosanna Gabaldón
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263424
Email: rgabaldon@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction


District: 3
Senator Olivia Cajero Bedford
Terms in Office: 2
Democrat
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support:

Phone: 6029265835
Email: ocajerobedford@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsored bill to put 300 percent sales tax on medical marijuana 2011, she is dead set against using marijuana for medical reasons and clearly wants to put a financial burden on those that do.
District: 3
Representative Macario Saldate IV
Terms in Office: 2
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029264171
Email: msaldate@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 3
Representative Sally Ann Gonzales
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263278
Email: sgonzales@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction


District: 4
Senator Lynne Pancrazi
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263004
Email: lpancrazi@azleg.gov
Notes: Assistant Minority Leader Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 4
Representative Juan Carlos Escamilla
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265872
Email: jescamilla@azleg.gov
District: 4
Representative Lisa Otondo
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263002
Email: lotondo@azleg.gov


District: 5
Senator Kelli Ward
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264138
Email: kward@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsoring SB1122 Industrial Hemp
District: 5
Representative Sonny Borrelli
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265051
Email: sborrelli@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsoring SB1122 Industrial Hemp
District: 5
Representative Doris Goodale
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265408
Email: dgoodale@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee, Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 6
Senator Chester Crandell
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265409
Email: ccrandell@azleg.gov
District: 6
Representative Brenda Barton
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029264129
Email: bbarton@azleg.gov
District: 6
Representative Bob Thorpe
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265219
Email: bthorpe@azleg.gov


District: 7
Senator Carlyle Begay
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265862
Email: cbegay@azleg.gov
Notes: appointed mid term summer 2013
District: 7
Representative Jamescita Peshlakai
Terms in Office: 2
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265160
Email: jpeshlakai@azleg.gov
District: 7
Representative Albert Hale
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264323
Email: ahale@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee


District: 8
Senator Barbara McGuire
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265836
Email: bmcguire@azleg.gov
District: 8
Representative T.J. Shope
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263012
Email: tshope@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 8
Representative Frank Pratt
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265761
Email: fpratt@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 9
Senator Steve Farley
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263022
Email: sfarley@azleg.gov
District: 9
Representative Victoria Steele
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265683
Email: vsteele@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 9
Representative Ethan Orr
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263235
Email: eorr@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee, Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 10
Senator David Bradley
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265262
Email: dbradley@azleg.gov
District: 10
Representative Stefanie Mach
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263398
Email: smach@azleg.gov
Notes: has indicated interest in changing the law to let marijuana concentrates be legal
District: 10
Representative Bruce Wheeler
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263300
Email: bwheeler@azleg.gov
Notes: Minority Whip. Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction


District: 11
Senator Al Melvin
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264326
Email: amelvin@azleg.gov
District: 11
Representative Steve Smith
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265685
Email: stsmith@azleg.gov
District: 11
Representative Adam Kwasman
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265839
Email: akwasman@azleg.gov


District: 12
Senator Andy Biggs
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264371
Email: abiggs@azleg.gov
Notes: Senate President
District: 12
Representative Eddie Farnsworth
Terms in Office: 2
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029265735
Email: efarnsworth@azleg.gov
Notes: Chairman of Judiciary Committee, has vowed to never let a bill out of committee that would legalize marijuana.
District: 12
Representative Warren Petersen
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264136
Email: wpetersen@azleg.gov


District: 13
Senator Don Shooter
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029264139
Email: dshooter@azleg.gov
District: 13
Representative Darin Mitchell
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265894
Email: dmitchell@azleg.gov
District: 13
Representative Steve Montenegro
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265955
Email: smontenegro@azleg.gov


District: 14
Senator Gail Griffin
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265895
Email: ggriffin@azleg.gov
Notes: President Pro Tempore,
District: 14
Representative David W. Stevens
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264321
Email: dstevens@azleg.gov
District: 14
Representative David M. Gowan Sr.
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263312
Email: dgowan@azleg.gov
Notes: Majority Leader


District: 15
Senator Nancy Barto
Terms in Office: 4
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265766
Email: nbarto@azleg.gov
District: 15
Representative Heather Carter
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265503
Email: hcarter@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 15
Representative John Allen
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264916
Email: jallen@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee


No Picture URL Link
District: 16
Senator David Farnsworth
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263020
Email: dfarnsworth@azleg.gov
District: 16
Representative Kelly Townsend
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029264467
Email: ktownsend@azleg.gov
District: 16
Representative Doug Coleman
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263160
Email: dcoleman@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 17
Senator Steve Yarbrough
Terms in Office: 2
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029265863
Email: syarbrough@azleg.gov
District: 17
Representative Thomas Forese
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265168
Email: tforese@azleg.gov
District: 17
Representative Javan "J.D." Mesnard
Terms in Office: 2
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264481
Email: jmesnard@azleg.gov
Notes: Speaker Pro Tempore


District: 18
Senator John McComish
Terms in Office: 2
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265898
Email: jmccomish@azleg.gov
Notes: Majority Leader, Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 18
Representative Bob Robson
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265549
Email: brobson@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 18
Representative Jeff Dial
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265550
Email: jdial@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 19
Senator Anna Tovar
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263392
Email: atovar@azleg.gov
Notes: became Minority Leader on Oct 28, 2013 by a 8-5 vote replacing a miffed Landrum Taylor. It is reported that Anna is everything you would want a public servant to be. She had been the Minority Whip. She is cool, animal activist, total public servant, we like her! Steve Gallardo became whip.
District: 19
Representative Mark A. Cardenas
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263014
Email: mcardenas@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 19
Representative Lupe Chavira Contreras
Terms in Office: 2
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265284
Email: lcontreras@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee


District: 20
Senator Kimberly Yee
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029263024
Email: kyee@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsoring SB1122 Industrial Hemp
District: 20
Representative Carl Seel
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263018
Email: cseel@azleg.gov
District: 20
Representative Paul Boyer
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264173
Email: pboyer@azleg.gov


District: 21
Senator Rick Murphy
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264444
Email: rmurphy@azleg.gov
District: 21
Representative Debbie Lesko
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265413
Email: dlesko@azleg.gov
District: 21
Representative Rick Gray
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265993
Email: rgray@azleg.gov
Notes: Majority Whip


District: 22
Senator Judy Burges
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265861
Email: jburges@azleg.gov
District: 22
Representative David Livingston
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Oppose
MMJ Support: No

Phone: 6029264178
Email: dlivingston@azleg.gov
District: 22
Representative Phil Lovas
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263297
Email: plovas@azleg.gov


District: 23
Senator Michele Reagan
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265828
Email: mreagan@azleg.gov
Notes: Running for Secretary of State in 2014
District: 23
Representative Michelle Ugenti
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264480
Email: mugenti@azleg.gov
District: 23
Representative John Kavanagh
Terms in Office: 4
Republican
Status: Foe
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265170
Email: jkavanagh@azleg.gov
Notes: He tried to roll back the medical marijuana act in 2013


District: 24
Senator Katie Hobbs
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265325
Email: khobbs@azleg.gov
District: 24
Representative Chad Campbell
Terms in Office: 4
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263026
Email: chcampbell@azleg.gov
Notes: Minority Leader, term limits out 2014 Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 24
Representative Lela Alston
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265829
Email: lalston@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction


District: 25
Senator Bob Worsley
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265760
Email: bworsley@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 25
Representative Justin Olson
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029265288
Email: jolson@azleg.gov
District: 25
Representative Justin Pierce
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265495
Email: jpierce@azleg.gov
Notes: Judiciary Committee Vice Chair


District: 26
Senator Ed Ableser
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: (602) 926-4118
Email: eableser@azleg.gov
District: 26
Representative Andrew Sherwood
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263028
Email: asherwood@azleg.gov
District: 26
Representative Juan Mendez
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029264124
Email: jmendez@azleg.gov
Notes: Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction


District: 27
Senator Leah Landrum Taylor
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263830
Email: llandrum@azleg.gov
District: 27
Representative Ruben Gallego
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263042
Email: rgallego@azleg.gov
Notes: Assistant Minority Leader Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 27
Representative Catherine H. Miranda
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264893
Email: cmiranda@azleg.gov


District: 28
Senator Adam Driggs
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263016
Email: adriggs@azleg.gov
Notes: Majority Whip, Supported Medicaid Expansion
District: 28
Representative Eric Meyer
Terms in Office: 3
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263037
Email: emeyer@azleg.gov
District: 28
Representative Kate Brophy McGee
Terms in Office: 1
Republican
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264486
Email: kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov
Notes: Supported Medicaid Expansion


District: 29
Senator Steve Gallardo
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265830
Email: sgallardo@azleg.gov
District: 29
Representative Martín J. Quezada
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265911
Email: mquezada@azleg.gov
Notes: Member of Judiciary Committee Sponsor of SB2474 Marijuana Harm Reduction
District: 29
Representative Lydia Hernández
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029263376
Email: lhernandez@azleg.gov


District: 30
Senator Robert Meza
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029263425
Email: rmeza@azleg.gov
District: 30
Representative Jonathan Larkin
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Friend
Harm Reduction: Support
MMJ Support: Yes

Phone: 6029265058
Email: jlarkin@azleg.gov
District: 30
Representative Debbie McCune Davis
Terms in Office: 1
Democrat
Status: Unknown
Harm Reduction: Unknown
MMJ Support: Unknown

Phone: 6029264485
Email: ddavis@azleg.gov


End of Legislator Marijuana Status